Regions in Syria

Syria is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Syria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Syria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Syria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Syria

There are 14 regions in Syria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Syria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Rif-dimashq Damascus Countryside1.2,836,000--
Al-Hasakah Al-Hasakah Governorate2.1,512,000Al Hasakah Al Ḩasakah422,445
Quneitra Quneitra Governorate3.90,000Al Qunaytirah Al Qunayţirah36,143
Aleppo Aleppo Governorate4.3,115,559Aleppo Aleppo2,098,210
Ar-Raqqah Ar-Raqqah Governorate5.944,000Ar Raqqah Ar Raqqah531,952
As-Suwayda As-Suwayda Governorate6.770,000As-Suwayda As-Suwayda59,052
Dimashq Damascus Governorate7.1,711,000Damascus Damascus1,569,394
Daraa Daraa Governorate8.1,027,000Dar'a Dar‘ā97,969
Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor Governorate9.1,239,000Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor271,800
Hama Hama Governorate10.1,628,000Hamah Ḩamāh460,602
Homs Homs Governorate11.1,803,000Homs Homs775,404
Idlib Idlib Governorate12.1,501,000Idlib Idlib128,840
Latakia Latakia Governorate13.1,890,000Latakia Latakia709,000
Tartus Tartus Governorate14.1,550,000Tartus Ţarţūs458,327