Regions in Syria

Syria is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Syria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Syria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Syria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Syria

There are 14 regions in Syria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Syria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Aleppo Aleppo Governorate1.3,115,559Aleppo Aleppo2,098,210
Rif-dimashq Damascus Countryside2.2,836,000--
Latakia Latakia Governorate3.1,890,000Latakia Latakia709,000
Homs Homs Governorate4.1,803,000Homs Homs775,404
Dimashq Damascus Governorate5.1,711,000Damascus Damascus1,569,394
Hama Hama Governorate6.1,628,000Hamah Ḩamāh460,602
Tartus Tartus Governorate7.1,550,000Tartus Ţarţūs458,327
Al-Hasakah Al-Hasakah Governorate8.1,512,000Al Hasakah Al Ḩasakah422,445
Idlib Idlib Governorate9.1,501,000Idlib Idlib128,840
Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor Governorate10.1,239,000Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor271,800
Daraa Daraa Governorate11.1,027,000Dar'a Dar‘ā97,969
Ar-Raqqah Ar-Raqqah Governorate12.944,000Ar Raqqah Ar Raqqah531,952
As-Suwayda As-Suwayda Governorate13.770,000As-Suwayda As-Suwayda59,052
Quneitra Quneitra Governorate14.90,000Al Qunaytirah Al Qunayţirah36,143