This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Syria

Syria is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Syria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Syria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Syria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Syria

There are 14 regions in Syria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Syria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Al-Hasakah Al-Hasakah Governorate1.1,512,000Al Hasakah Al Ḩasakah81,539
Aleppo Aleppo Governorate2.3,115,559Aleppo Aleppo1,602,264
Ar-Raqqah Ar-Raqqah Governorate3.944,000Ar Raqqah Ar Raqqah177,636
As-Suwayda As-Suwayda Governorate4.770,000As Suwayda' As Suwaydā’59,052
Daraa Daraa Governorate5.1,027,000Dar'a Dar‘ā97,969
Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor Governorate6.1,239,000Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor242,565
Dimashq Damascus Governorate7.1,711,000Damascus Damascus1,569,394
Hama Hama Governorate8.1,628,000Hamah Ḩamāh460,602
Homs Homs Governorate9.1,803,000Homs Homs775,404
Idlib Idlib Governorate10.1,501,000Idlib Idlib128,840
Latakia Latakia Governorate11.1,890,000Latakia Latakia340,181
Quneitra Quneitra Governorate12.90,000Al Qunaytirah Al Qunayţirah36,143
Rif-dimashq Muḩāfaz̧at Rīf Dimashq13.2,836,000--
Tartus Tartus Governorate14.1,550,000Tartouss Tartouss89,457